Friday Morning

I woke up this morning with a start worrying I had slept in late; the sun was so bright at 7:30. 

It feels like it’s going to be one of those days that you can dance through from beginning to end. I get to meet my best friend’s newest baby (who is scrumptious looking in all the pics she’s been sending me!!), and we just got PAID today, and I have all these great resolutions for being on top of the budget, and February starts on Monday and with that we are soooo much closer to spring, and Lent is about to begin which will also be the countdown to my own baby boy who is due the week after Easter, and it’s going to be in the sixties all weekend and THE SUN IS SHINING.

Also I just had the best breakfast in the world and I decided after years and years of enjoying this little concoction introduced to me by my foodie Grammy, I should share it for other healthy and sweet breakfast lovers!

My Grammy is the kind of foodie who orders her specialty ingredients from catalogs. She has never bombed a recipe (except for one butternut squash soup I will never forget because I was 13 and it had curry in it, which I maintain today is the grossest seasoning). She has a great knack for balancing the need for health and the need for indulgence and the fact that life is too short for crappy food. My Grampy would make fun of her when she would brag that those cookies you’re gobbling, she cut 1/2 the sugar and 2/3’s of the fat, can you believe it? and Grampy would jab, “yes but Nunie, you doubled the chocolate!” And she would toss her head. Duh, you always double the chocolate.

Anyway, when I was in college I used to go spend many of my free weekends visiting her in their beautiful home in the Blue Ridge Mountains when my grandpa’s health started really declining; and then when he passed and she was heartbroken and lonely, we spent many cozy weekends together.

Grammy’s breakfast of choice is this: you cut up some fresh fruit, a banana and or whatever is freshest and in season, and put it in the bottom of a bowl. Top it with a small handful of your favorite homemade granola (she made hers with a lot of seeds and nuts; I am more of a purist who sticks to unsalted toasted almonds and oats)… Dollop some Greek yogurt on top of the granola…

   

… And then you trickle some orange juice to taste over the whole thing:  

 Stir it up and enjoy.  

 

It is clearly not a photogenic dish, but trust me when I say it’s absolutely amazing. And really more tart, not too sweet, depending on your granola and the quality of the yogurt (it seems like the cheaper Greek yogurts have much more sweetener in them). You can even use plain yogurt instead of vanilla, if you’re brave like that ;). 

 Happy weekend!

2 thoughts on “Friday Morning

  1. I had your granola w Greek yogurt (again) this morning! I’m definitely adding juice and fruit tomorrow though! Yum.

Leave a Reply

