Quick Update

Whew. Taking a long, longgggg breath. 
And inhaling all the pollen that keeps floating in through the windows that I just can’t bring myself to close, dusting-like-Cinderella to the contrary. 
I have woken up to a loud, loud chorus of birds outside our bedroom window every morning for the past week, and I feel so alive.

Life has been absolutely wonderfully crazy. I started this job writing for a local shopping and style site – its so much fun but is taking up alot of the time I used to use for blogging. However, it pays, soooo… ;)I am daily grateful to be able to continue to pursue writing. Not sure when in my life or why I just decided, “I am a writer”… but I did, its done, that’s that. I feel like I never know what exactly I will be writing about in my life… I just know I will always have this need to respond to experiences and struggle to express my thoughts on paper. This silly little exercise of blogging once/twice a week, has kept my writing abilities from getting too rusty. More importantly, it has kept me aware of my desire and ability to make time for real, difficult, gratifying writing.
I wanted to share this post that I had the honor of writing for Whitney Hetzel who does the blog 9 Kid Fitness. Whitney is one of the most inspiring mothers of my acquaintance… she has had, yes, 9 kids, the two eldest of whom are in the Naval Academy… 
she has the most cheerful, encouraging outlook on life, as I picked up on the coffee date I was able to have with her…she takes care of her body – she is super fit!… their family life revolves around fitness – swimming, soccer, running, cycling… they spend their free time together getting fresh air and endorphins. One early summer evening, I saw the whole bunch of them riding on bikes and scooters together on the Greenway. It was like a loud, hectic, incredibly attractive and fun-looking circus. 
As a mother, Whitney is clearly doing something right. Her daughter Annie, is, at 15, the best babysitter I have yet to find. You’d think being in the middle of such a big family, babies would be passe. But I come back from my evenings/afternoons out, and Annie has a bunch of pictures to show me on her phone that she took of Will because he was “being so cute!”
Anyways, I shared my experience with fitness this pregnancy on Whitney’s (very big) blog. Some of it is taken from the first post I did here on “The Pregnancy Project”, but most of it is freshly written and includes how the workouts are helping, differences I have noticed, etc. 
Check it out!

2 thoughts on “Quick Update

  1. How awesome that you are getting PAID to write! Stinky that it might take away from this blog, but totally AWESOME otherwise! I also love what you wrote for 9 Kid Fitness! I ran until 33 weeks (I was put on exercise restriction) and I've paid for it dearly in reshaping my abdomen. (That big belly put a lot of strain on every muscle and tendon in that area!) I'll have to give those DVDs a shot next go 'round!

  2. I'm glad you liked the article, Sarah! Thanks! I'm just so glad I found this program, it really is worth the money! (and since you get 9 workouts, it comes to what, just over $5 per, which is even less than Jillian Michael's)

    And oh, I am getting paid VERY little compared to the real-deal Freelance writers, but its adding to my portfolio and its something! I started by finding some writing jobs that did not pay at all but were flexible and gave me some great experience and then I was able to take this step to a small-paying one! Its definitely doable, and not at all overwhelming if you take it one step at a time!

    Finally – gosh I was totally envious and intimidated by you when I read about your pregnant running! You made it so far! I'm sure it gave you great endurance for labor and delivery 😉

Leave a Reply

